2012 Partner Country – India

Formal engagement of the India Partner Country for 2012 was undertaken at Prime Ministerial level. The invitation to be Partner Country was made by Ms Julia Gillard, Prime Minister of Australia, and accepted by Dr Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of India.

The Hon Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology, attended CeBIT Australia, bringing with him more than 70 Indian companies – the highest representation of visiting Indian companies for a business event in Australia.

The Indian Partner Country Program was supported by NASSCOM, the industry association for the IT-BPO sector in India, and the Electronics and Computer Software Export Promotion Council (ESC), India’s largest Electronics and IT trade facilitation organisation.

Minister Pilot participated in several major events at CeBIT Australian 2012: The Opening Ceremony at the Sydney Opera House, the Opening Plenary, and the ICT Celebration Dinner, where he presented the inaugural NASSCOM Innovation Student Awards.

Bilateral merchandise trade between Australia and India has increased by an annual average of around 16 per cent over the past five years to 2010/11. India was ranked 6th among Australia’s merchandise trading partners in 2010/11.

2011 Partner Country – Germany

CeBIT Australia’s inaugural partner country was Germany, Australia’s 10th largest bilateral trade partner. Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle travelled to Australia and opened CeBIT Australia alongside the Australian Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd at the Sydney Opera House. Minister Westerwelle was accompanied by a political and trade delegation, including Stephan Weil (Lord Mayor of Hannover and Member of Deutsche Messe Supervisory Board), and made a global political economic and trade speech at CeBIT, his only public address whilst in Australia.


The Partner Country Program is based on the program run by Deutsche Messe for its two major shows in Hannover which sees a country appointed by Deutsche Messe in direct consultation with the German State and Federal governments, depending on Germany’s strategic policy priorities, and the leader of that country leader traveling to Hannover to open the show with the German Chancellor.

The Partner Country program has proved highly successful for the ICT sector in Germany, but the benefits go well beyond the technology sector. It is a strategically important annual initiative that has enabled the German government to broaden bi-lateral trade and cultural ties with the countries involved – and attract high levels of international media attention.

The Partner Country leader travels to Germany with an accompanying business, trade and political delegation, and opens the show with the German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The countries/states and their leaders that have recently been Partner Countries of CeBIT and Hannover Messe are:


Year Country Person
2012 Brazil President Dilma Vana Rousseff
2011 Turkey Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan
2010 Spain Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero
2009 California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
2008 France President Nicolas Sarkozy
2007 Russia President Vladimir Putin

Hannover Messe

Year Country Person
2012 China President Hu Jintao
2011 France President Nicolas Sarkozy
2010 Italy Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi
2009 Korea Prime Minister Han Myeong-sook
2008 Japan Envoy for the Prime Minister, Shinzo Abeand
2007 Turkey Prime Minister Tayip Erdogan
2006 India Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh